ATK UI Complex User Input Design Style

I’d like to hear other ATK UI’s opinion on a matter of style. I have an application that gets a number of inputs from the user to determine how to display a set of data. For example, the user can choose a date range, decide on daily/weekly/monthly summaries, indicate which people to report on, and indicate whether or not certain types of data is included in the summary.

I chose to implement this by creating a simple Model class to store the user’s selections and associating it with a Persistence_Array using the $_SESSION variable. I then set up a Form to display the fields how I want. It works fine, but for some reason it just doesn’t feel right to me – it feels like a kludge. I’m far from an expert in using ATK UI to develop applications, or in developing web applications at all (though I have developed a lot of code), so I can’t really explain or justify why I feel that way, I just do.

So I thought I’d ask for feedback. I’m sure I’m not the only one to be trying to do this – every non-trivial application will have some place where they need to get input from the user that isn’t necessarily stored in a database, but controls what their application does a bit further down the page. How do you do it?

Hello and welcome to ATK Community.

Using Form for getting user input is a standard Web Dev practice. However for storing those values I would just use a simple $_SESSION setup without model (will get the data from form onSubmit) or maybe store in a DB.

Then for displaying I would use a custom View class or a text, but I guess you want to display the actual report. In which case I would use the Grid component.

I thought of that – but if I do that:

1. the look & feel of the fields and overall form would be different than that of any form created with the ATK UI, wouldn’t it (unless I did a lot of manual work to duplicate whatever ATK UI is doing to format the form fields, field hints, etc.)?